Notifications > Add New Reminder

Reminders are used to remind you if you or a friend/child has NOT yet entered a Blood Glucose reading during a certain set period of time. This type of reminder is great for helping to insure that Challenges are met.

To start, select the name of the person you are going to monitor. It can be yourself or anyone in your Friends List. If you do NOT see your friend's/child's name in the pull down list, then you need to add them to your Friends List. See Friends section.

Next select how you want to receive the Reminder. You can choose Email or SMS (Text Messaging). If you select Email, the email account we will use will be the one you have in your Profile. If you select SMS, the phone number we will use to send the Text Message will be the one you have in your Profile. If you do NOT see the SMS choice in the pull down list, then you did NOT enter a phone number in your Profile. See our Tutorial section on Profiles.

Mark any or all days of the week that you would like to receive the Reminder. If you don't select any, you will not be able to set the Reminder and you will get an error message.

At what time would you like to be alerted? We suggest that if the Challenge is to do a BG reading between 2:00pm and 5:00pm (for example), then set the alert time to 4:45pm so that you still have about 15 minutes to enter a BG reading and gain points for doing it on time! Need more time? Then make the alert for 4:30pm. Also consider that if this is a Reminder for someone else, you will need time to be alerted and then time to contact them to find out if they need assistance with logging in their reading. It is all about supporting each other!

Finally, you set the time that Gluco-Share should start checking to see an entry has been made. Once again, if the Challenge is to do a BG reading between 2:00pm and 5:00pm (for example), then set the start time to 2:00pm. Gluco-Share will keep checking over and over until a BG reading takes place. If the alert was set for 4:45pm, then you will get a Reminder that there has not been a BG entry within the last 90 minutes. This will give you time to enter a BG reading or to contact the persons involved. It is all about supporting each other!

When you have everything set, don't forget to "Save This Notification".

You will see any Notifications that you have set up previously in the list on the Notifications main page. You can edit or delete any of them in your list.